mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Powys Council removes governors at Llanfyllin High School

Created on 16/06/2016 @ 13:00
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Four councillors have been removed as governors of Llanfyllin High School by Powys County Council in the wake of the school transport funding row.

The four LEA governors, Councillors Peter Lewis, Aled Davies, Darren Mayor and Gwynfor Thomas have been removed following a cabinet meeting on Tuesday while Councillor Myfanwy Alexander, former cabinet member in charge of schools, has been barred from holding a governor role at any school in Powys.

The authority said that the school should not have offered subsidised buses to 149 pupils for whom Llanfyllin is not their nearest secondary school. Many of these were being brought in on coaches from homes across the Shropshire border.

Powys County Council Leader, Councillor Barry Thomas said: “I can confirm that on Tuesday the cabinet decided to remove four local education authority appointed governors at Llanfyllin High School who are also Powys County Councillors.

“The decision was taken in response to the findings of the independent review into the circumstances of the school using its delegated school funding to subsidise home to school transport in breach of a clear council policy.

“The findings indicate their actions may be breach of the council’s code of conduct and could bring the county council into disrepute. The decision includes all LEA appointed governing body positions they hold within the county.

“They have been informed of the cabinet’s decision and that they have a right of appeal.

“The cabinet has also removed former cabinet member Councillor Myfanwy Alexander as a governor of any Powys school.

“The report will also be passed to the Local Government Ombudsman for independent review,” he added.  

icnn logo