mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Montgomery take the title

Created on 13/09/2016 @ 07:56
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


Montgomery have crowned a fine season by clinching the Shropshire Division Two title with a match to spare.

And it was done in style, beating Tibberton by 95 runs after declaring on 202-5 thanks largely to Tim Davies (83) and James Corfield (43no).

The bowlers played their part with nine players turning their arm to reduce the visitors to 107 all out in the 37th over to spark the celebrations (pictured).

Welshpool are closing in on second spot, and just need to avoid defeat on the final day after comfortably beating Shrewsbury III by nine wickets.

The visitors were dismissed for just 78 with Rob Anderson (4-17) inflicting the most damage. Adam Knight (52no) carried his bat to guide his side home in the 15th over.

Newtown are just one win away from taking the Division One title after another victory kept them on top of the table.

After being put into bat by Beacon, Hamish Harding smashed a fine 90, including six sixes, for Newtown who powered their way to 228-7 from 50 overs. Veteran opener Dai Brown hit 61.

Craig Davies (5-22) and Dave Anthony (5-27) then took over as Beacon were dismissed for just 50 in the 17th over. Their final match of the season is against lowly Allscott.

Guilsfield’s hopes of finishing second in Division Four took a blow after a big defeat at home to Acton Reynald, who leapfrogged them into second spot. The villagers were dismissed for 102, allowing the visitors to cruise through to a nine-wicket win.

In the Reserve Divisions, Montgomery II won at Bomere Heath II by three wickets in Division Two, while Welshpool II shared the spoils at stubborn Lilleshall 4ths in Division Three, despite Dan Chodecki hitting 97 as Pool set 144-9. Newtown II are set to finish third after being dismissed for just 59 chasing Shifnal 4ths’ 128-9.


icnn logo