mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Adele leads award winners

Created on 04/02/2017 @ 14:23
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Sports stars from across North Powys have been honoured at the 2016 Montgomeryshire Annual Sports Awards when shot putter Adele Nicoll was named Sports Personality of The Year.

The accolades, which are co-ordinated by Powys County Council’s Sports Development Team, recognise and celebrate sporting success of local individuals and teams in sport at all levels.  The event was sponsored by McDonalds, Newtown for the fourth year running.

The awards night were held at Newtown’s entertainment venue Hafren when 47 nominations were received for the latest awards, which saw the accolades go to:

• Junior Team of the Year: Newtown Dragons Junior Squash team
• Senior Team of the Year: Maldwyn Harriers – cross country team
• Young Sports Leader: Robbie Howells
• Volunteer of the Year: Debbie Evans
• Coach of the Year: Ed Williams
• Club of the Year: Hafren Cycling Club
• Disabled Sports Personality of the Year: Tom Piggott
• Junior Sports Personality of the Year – U12’s: Ceri Roberts
• Junior Sports Personality of the Year – U14’s: Max Williams
• Junior Sports Personality of the Year – U18’s: Amber Owen
• Senior Sports Personality of the Year: Adele Nicoll

Services to Sports Awards were also presented to three individuals to recognise their outstanding contribution to sport.  They were:

• Dave Peters (Athletics)
• Chris Nevill (Tennis)
• Doug Williams (Football)

Cllr Graham Brown, Powys County Council’s Cabinet Member for Sports Development, said: “This year’s award were of the highest calibre and it just shows how many talented and dedicated sports people we have.

“I would like to congratulate the winners of this year’s awards, who fully deserve their accolades, but also everyone who was nominated.  We are extremely privileged to have so many talented sports people in the area.”


icnn logo