mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Five councillors standing down at Welshpool Town Council

Created on 06/04/2017 @ 07:30
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Five councillors are not standing for re-election to Welshpool Town Council it has been revealed.

When nominations closed yesterday the withdrawals meant there will only be an election on Castle Ward where six candidates will fight for four seats and there will be vacancies on both Llanerchyddol and Gungrog Wards.

Those not seeking re-election include County Councillor Graham Breeze who says he will concentrate on representing Welshpool at county level if re-elected on May 4.

“There are very difficult times ahead at Powys County Council and to avoid any conflict of interest I will concentrate my efforts on representing the people of Llanerchyddol ward at County Hall if voted in,” he said. "Decisions will be made that will have a long term impact for the people of Welshpool and it is important we have a strong and independent voice at Powys level."

Others not returning are Councillors John Corfield Amy Bowen, Brendon McWhinnie and Derek Simms.

On Castle Ward, where there are four seats, sitting councillors Phil Pritchard, Hazel Evans (both Independent) and Nicola Morris (Labour) face competition from Richard Church (Liberal Democrat), Julie Ellis (Independent) and Penny Vengoe (Independent).

New councillors Folkert Veenstra (Liberal Democrat) and Yvonne Owen (Independent) will serve on Llanerchyddol Ward alongside Malcolm Douglass, Heather Sherlock and Shane Squibb (all Independent) – leaving one vacancy.

David Senior (Plaid Cymru), Estelle Bleivas, Heather Chave, Chris Davies and Steve Kaye (all Independent) will return to the Gungrog Ward, leaving one vacancy.

Polling for the Castle Ward contest will take place at The Methodist Church on Thursday, May 4.


icnn logo