mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Powys County Council leader announces her new cabinet

Created on 22/05/2017 @ 19:08
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


Powys County Council’s new Leader Councillor Rosemarie Harris today announced the membership of her new cabinet - and four come from the Welshpool area.

Councillor Harris, who was elected Executive Leader of the council at the annual meeting last Thursday revealed that she would have a cabinet of 10 members made up of six Independent and four Welsh Conservative members. 

“The cabinet is made up from the coalition of the Independent Group and Welsh Conservatives but is one that will act as one team on behalf of the people of Powys.

“I have appointed a team with a blend of experience, knowledge and fresh ideas – we have five members with cabinet experience and five new to role. We have more women on the cabinet than before.

“It is a cabinet that represents all parts of the county and I hope that it is the most inclusive the council has experienced. As a team we have the determination to deliver real change for the people of Powys,” she said.

Conservative Leader Aled Davies (top left) of Llanrhaeadr is named as the council’s Deputy Leader and will take the finance portfolio while new councillor Jonathan Wilkinson, top right, (Conservative) of Meifod takes the Adult Social Care portfolio.

Myfanwy Alexander (top centre) the Independent councillor for Banwy returns to the cabinet in charge of education while Montgomery’s Independent member Stephen Hayes (above right) holds onto the Adult Social Care brief.

New member Rachel Powell, right, (Independent) of Beguildy takes on Children, Youth, Libraries and Leisure Services and will be recognised by many as a former midwife at Welshpool Hospital.

The new cabinet is:

Leader; Cllr Rosemarie Harris

Deputy Leader & Finance: Cllr Aled Davies

Housing and Countryside Services; Cllr Jonathan Wilkinson

Education: Cllr Myfanwy Alexander

HR & Communications: Cllr James Evans

Adult Social Care: Cllr Stephen Hayes

Regen & Planning: Cllr Martin Weale

Highways: Cllr Liam Fitzpatrick

Children, Youth, Libraries and Leisure Services: Cllr Rachel Powell

Property & Waste: Cllr Phyl Davies


icnn logo