mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

New Chair for Powys County Council

Created on 21/05/2018 @ 08:03
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


A county councillor from the far south of the county has been appointed the new Chair of Powys County Council, replacing a councillor from Berriew

Cllr David Meredith, who represents the St. David Within ward, was elected chair at the council’s annual meeting yesterday (Thursday, May 17), succeeding Cllr Dai Davies.

Cllr Meredith was elected as a county councillor in 2008 and was Chair of Brecknockshire for 2012/13.

Elected Vice-Chair of the council at the same meeting was Cllr Beverley Baynham, local member for Presteigne, and Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, local member for Llansantffraid, was elected Assistant Vice-Chair.

PICTURE: Cllr David Meredith (third from right), the new Chair of Powys County Council, receives the chain of office from outgoing chair, Cllr Dai Davies. Also pictured are (from left to right) David Powell, the council’s Deputy Chief Executive; Cllr Beverley Baynham, Vice-Chair; Cllr Rosemarie Harris, Leader of Powys County Council; and Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, Assistant Vice-Chair.

icnn logo