mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Ellen, Linda clear up golf prizes

Created on 15/09/2010 @ 21:32
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Ellen Jones (7) won the Wyn Horgan Trophy for the best gross with Linda Aldridge (22) winning the Club Championship with the best nett score at Welshpool Golf Club.

The two day competition took place last weekend with Ellen scoring a gross 80 on both days for a total of 160 and Linda recording a nett score of 75 and a brilliant 66 on the second day for 141 points.

Linda was ffololwing in the footsteps of husband Robert who lifted the Robin Annison Scratch Trophy over two days the previous weekend - plenty of pillow golf talk there then.

The ladies section has won the Northern division of the handicap league and look forward to playing against the south division winners, Llandrindod Wells, at Aberystwyth in October.

This week saw the last of the matchplay knockout competitions, when Jonathan Gamble ( 5) beat Stephen Pritchard (9) in the final of the Brandon Smith handicap knockout. On Sunday a fourball betterball was played which was a medal and was won by Marc Brown (4) and Harry Bowen (6) with a net 62 in 2nd place Dave Rowlands (11) & Dave Jones (19) with a net 66.

 This week the seniors played the Jim Seddon Trohpy. A Stroke-play competition off the white tees. The Winner was Peter Sharman with nett 68; Bryn Jones second with 74 nett; Trevor Morris third with 75 nett.

On Thursday the penultimate round of the Golfer of the Year competition was played. Again we all managed to get in before the heavens opened which was enough time for Brian Evans to lead the pack into the clubhouse with 37 points followed closely by Richard Amyes with 35 (on countback) and Phillip Evans also on 35.


The Montgomeryshire League Finals were held at St. Giles Golf Club, Newtown on Saturday  when Llanymynech Golf Club Captain, Paul Penrose was presented with the Montgomeryshire League Shield following their club’ s success in winning the league.

Club Scramble – Saturday 11th September 2010
Alan Davies, Ryan Davies, Paul Prust & Harry Smith
59 – 4.8 = 54.2 nett
Runners Up
Hywel Roberts, Steve Jenkins, Huw Williams & Andy Grainger
59 – 4.6 = 54.4 nett
3rd place
Mike Rooke, Garry Huggett, Andy Don & Brian Beckett
58 – 2.9 = 55.1 nett


icnn logo