mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Entries to open for best village award

Created on 22/02/2020 @ 21:29

Organisers of the Montgomeryshire Village Award have confirmed the popular community initiative will take place this year, with entries opening this month.

Organised by the Montgomeryshire branch of the Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales and sponsored by Mid Wales and Shropshire estate agent Morris, Marshall and Poole with Norman Lloyd, 2020 will be the third time it has taken place since it was relaunched in 2016.

The award is open to any village in Montgomeryshire, regardless of size. Towns are not eligible. 

Berriew won the inaugural award in 2016, with Llanymynech claiming the crown in 2018. Finalists in 2018 were Llanwyddyn, Llangyniew and Guilsfield. 

“We’ve been amazed at the enthusiasm shown by communities who have entered and taken part in the past two awards,” said Andrew Turner, a partner at Morris, Marshall and Poole with Norman Lloyd who have backed the award since its launch.

“We’ve seen some exceptional entries that have not only shown the strength of community spirit within our local villages but have even gone on to kick-start additional activities and community involvement within them.

“We’re proud to yet again be sponsoring this terrific award that brings out real community spirit here in Mid Wales.”

Judges will be looking for “evidence of distinctive character, a sense of place and a welcoming atmosphere.”

An independent judging panel will visit the villages, meet local residents and carefully scrutinising information packs, websites and other information submitted as part of their applications.

“We are looking for villages that not only look friendly and welcoming, but have a much deeper sense of place,” said Brett Kibble, Chairman of the Montgomeryshire Branch of the CPRW.

“We’re looking for places that have a range of well-established activities for all ages of a high standard and are capable of adapting to change; communities that evolve and absorb changes in demography, employment, services; innovation, and a caring community.”

Villages wanting to enter should email They will be sent an entry pack that contains all the information required for submitting an award entry.

The closing date will be 31 of March when judging will begin. An award ceremony will be held at Welshpool Livestock Sales Conference and Meeting Centre at Buttington Cross, Welshpool in September.

icnn logo