mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Public sector shutdown will hit services

Created on 29/11/2011 @ 15:22


Public services in Montgomeryshire will be severely hit during tomorrow's one day strike over planned changes to public sector pensions.
Schools will be closed, police will only be on emergency call outs, council customer points will be closed or limited, and other services in Welshpool and surrounding areas will be limited.
Residents and businesses are being urged to only contact a public service in an emergency and to leave any other enquiries until Thursday.
Dyfed-Powys Police and the Welsh Ambulance Service have said all emergency calls will be dealt with.
Many schools in the area will be closed, leaving parents having to take the day off work although local shops will hope that in turn becomes a day Christmas shopping.
Mike Cassidy, Deputy Chief Executive at the Welsh Ambulance Service, said: “After constructive engagement with trade union representatives, an agreement was reached to ensure the 999 emergency service is protected throughout the day of action. We will also be providing patient transport services for Cancer, Renal and Palliative Care patients to enable them to attend for treatment.”
Powys County Council said services would be disrupted, although it would be different in each area. A spokesperson for Powys County Council said: "We apologise for any disruption and hope residents understand that action is part of a national campaign."
Fifty-nine primary schools in Powys will be closed tomorrow out of a total of 99. Twelve of the 13 county high schools will be closed, including Newtown, Welshpool, Llanidloes, Caereinion, Llanfyllin and Machynlleth. Gungrog will be partially open but it will be business as usual at Ysgol Maesydre.
The Flash and the library will also be open but visitors are urged to check before travelling in tomorrow.
Below is a list of primary schools that will be closed in Montgomeryshire:
Ardwyn Nursery & Infants School
Castle Caereinion
Ladywell Green
Llanerfyl Foundation School
Llanfair Caereinion
Oldford Infants School
Pontrobert - not on School closure page of
Ysgol Dyffryn Trannon
Ysgol Llanbrynmair
Ysgol Meifod
Ysgol Rhiw Bechan
Brynllywarch Hall School and Cedewain School will also be closed.
Schools open include: Abermule, Arddleen, Buttington/Trewern, Carreghofa, Churchstoke, Dolfor, Forden, Leighton, Llandinam, Llangedwyn, Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Montgomery, Treowen and Maesydre.
icnn logo