mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Guilsfield clinch dramatic league title

Created on 22/09/2021 @ 14:48


The champagne corks were popping as Guilsfield & Llandrinio clinched the Henshalls Shropshire League Division Five title in dramatic style on Saturday.

Needing to win at Wellington 4ths and hoping that Newtown could do them a favour by frustrating leaders Column, Guilsfield held their side of the bargain with a nail biting two-wicket win.

Spinner Dan Brown (3-16) was the main performer as Guilsfield restricted their hosts to 145-9, paving the way for the free scoring top order to make their mark.

But early wickets fell until Brown hit 57, supported by Martin Own (27) and Duncan Todd (16) to edge the villagers home in the 38th over.

All they could do then was wait for the news from Newtown II and it sparked the celebrations as Column failed to bowl them out, meaning they secured just 18 points compared to Guilsfield’s 22 for the win, enough to clinch the title by just three points.

Newtown II were set 228-8 declared but managed to hold out against some fierce pressure in the latter overs to finish on 167-6.

There was a chance that Guilsfield’s promotion to Division Four could mean a local derby with Welshpool next season, but they avoided a last day disaster to cling on to their Division Three status.

After electing to bat, visitors Newport II found themselves in trouble early with Matt McWhinnie (3-22) stepping up to ensure they could only muster 133 all out. 

Paul Chapman (64no) then led the run chase and was supported by Chris Proctor (30) to ensure victory was enough to stay up.

Newtown finished an excellent Division One season with victory at Cound to finish third.

Sam Cooke (66) and Tom Foulkes (60no) saw Newtown through to a decent total of 228-7, allowing Craig Davies (4-45) to star with the ball and reduce Cound to 138 all out.

Montgomery were set a daunting 265-3 to chase at Chelmarsh in Division Two, who then skittled Monty out for 148. Montgomery II finished the season one place above the relegation zone.

Both Llanidloes and Montgomery II finished the Division Six season with home defeats against Allscott Heath II and St George’s III respectively.

Despite being set 219 to chase by Albrighton II in Division Seven, Welshpool II finished their season on a high with victory. Veterans David Whitehouse (54) and Dale Evans (34) were joined by Tom Bowen (44no) in making light work of the chase for a six-wicket win.

PICTURE: Celebration time as Guilsfield & Llandrinio crowned champions.

icnn logo