mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Has your councillor been attending meetings?

Created on 08/06/2019 @ 08:57
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Powys Councillors with less than 60 per cent attendance record will be asked to explain why they did not turn up to meetings but how did your local member figure?
Powys County Council’s (PCC) Standards committee was given a list of all 73  councillors with data showing how many meetings they should have been at, during the civic year from 15 May 2018, to 17 May 2019.
Of the 73, 10 councillors were listed as having been present at less than 60 per-cent of meetings they were supposed to.
Deputy monitoring officer Debby Jones, outlined the report and said:
“Attendance for main committees has been calculated. 10 councillors have been highlighted
“The procedure from here on, subject to committee agreeing, is to contact all those 10 asking for them to explain their attendance. That would be considered at our next meeting on October 2.”
The report states that during the civic year Cllr Jonathan Wilkinson (Meifod) was granted a six-month period of absence due to illness by the council from July 12, 2018.”
So how did councillors in your area do? The list below highlights attendance between May15, 2018 and May 17, 2019 in order of attendance.

Michael Jones (I) Churchstoke: 97%

Emyr Jones (I) Llanfihangel: 93%

Graham Breeze (I) Welshpool: 91%

Francesca Jump (LD) Welshpool 91%

Aled Davies C Llanrhaeadr) 91%

Lucy Roberts C Llandrinio: 87%

Linda Corfield (I) Forden: 86%

Myfanwy Alexander (I) Banwy: 85%

Heulwen Hulme (I) Tregynon: 84%

Stephen Hayes (I) Montgomery: 83%

Gwynfor Thomas C Llansantffraid 82%

Bryn Davies (PC) Llanwddyn: 80%

Gareth Jones (I) Llanfair: 78%

Phil Pritchard (I) Welshpool: 78%

Dai Davies (I) Berriew: 76%

David Jones (I) Guilsfield: 74%

Peter Lewis C Llanfyllin 73%

Arwel Jones (I) Llandysilio: 72%

Amanda Jenner C Trewern: 69%

Gareth Pugh C Abermule: 61%

Jonathan Wilkinson C Meifod: 23% (illness)

I=Independent; C=Conservative; PC=Plaid Cymru; LD=Lib/Dem

Report by Elgan Hearn Local Democracy Reporter

icnn logo