mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

‘Literary festivals don’t come much better than this’

Created on 26/06/2019 @ 08:15
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Never mind the rain; there was plenty of light and sunshine at the 2019 Montgomeryshire Literary Festival, which took place at Gregynog Hall during the weekend of June 14-16.

Throughout the Festival, the audience was treated to a dazzling array of literary talent, including bestselling authors Sir Simon Jenkins, Horatio Clare, Neil Spring and Clare Mackintosh.

We learnt how mid-Wales and the borders influence and inspire writers; how the history of Wales really can be told in 100 of its most significant objects and the story behind Alan Garner’s classic, The Owl Service

Non-fiction and fiction were celebrated at their very best, whatever the genre: literary fiction, ghost stories and thrillers; memoir, biography and military history. 

The winners of the 2019 New Welsh Writing Awards were applauded, and the next generation of authors were given guidance in the book pitch workshop. 

We heard about the process authors go through when they write, the crucial relationship between author and agent and how a sense of place can be captured, evoked and represented in writing. 

People left with their bags weighed down from the purchase of signed books from the Festival bookshop provided by Booka of Oswestry, expressing their satisfaction after a weekend well spent in the glorious Gregynog Hall.

Festival founder, Simon Baynes, said: “What a weekend we had, with writers and readers brought together for a festival of literary delights. In just our second year, we’ve established ourselves as a major event on the literary circuit, receiving tremendous feedback from an audience who recognise that Montgomeryshire and the borders needs and deserves its own festival. We look forward to 2020, when we’ll be in Montgomery, building on this year’s event with yet more literary talent; the planning starts now!”

PICTURE: Myfanwy Alexander introducing the judges and winners of the New Welsh Writers Award (from left): Myfanwy Alexander, Gwen Davies (judge), J L George (award winner), Peter Goulding (award winner) and Cynan Jones (judge).

icnn logo