mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Memories of High School football

Created on 17/01/2011 @ 08:13
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


A MyWelshpool reader has sent us a newspaper cutting of the first Welshpool High School team to win the Ivor Tuck Trophy.

John Bebb was a member of the famous side which won the all-Wales tournament in the 1965/66 season for the first time.

"This is an all Wales competition and along the way we beat teams from Cardiff and Swansea before meeting Llanrwst in the final," said John.

"I think many of your readers will recognise and remember with fondness many of the team, some of whom went on to represent Wales at more than one sport."

Pictured, back row l-r, Derek Humphries (teacher), Nigel Jones, Richard Davies, Hayden Evans, Mike Lloyd, Roy Powell, Mike Mival, Tom Ellis (teacher).
Front row l-r, Des Corfield, Denis Jones, Dai (Taffy Thomas) Thomas, Dai Jones, John Bebb and Jim Mason. 

icnn logo