mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Cyclists ride to honours

Created on 15/07/2016 @ 09:28
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

With the title of Hafren CC Freewheel Grass Track League champion on the line, the riders produced some of the best racing seen in the league this year.

The juniors and youth riders competed over three events on the night, the 'Flying Lap' time trial, the longest lap and an elimination race and the growing confidence amongst the junior riders saw some very close races.

As the Junior event drew to a close all the young riders were treated to a bag of Mollies Sweets, kindly provided by our event sponsor, as just rewards for their efforts.  The Following riders were crowned HCC Grasstrack Champions in their respective events:

Noah White, MSW U8 Boys

Jess Bufton, HCC u8 Girls

Max Bufton, HCC u10 Boys

Evie Hill, HCC u10 Girls

Fred Meredith, HCC u12 Boys

Rachel Williams, HCC u12 Girls

Sam Holwill, HCC u14 Boys

Emma Holwill, HCC u14 Girls

As the shadows grew longer the adults took to the 400m circuit affectionately known as the 'Welshpool Velodrome' in a final showdown for the crown of HCC grasstrack Champion 2016.  

Riders set of on a leg burner 'flying lap' time trial, which also gave them their seeding for future rounds.  This was followed by the Longest Lap testing both the riders tactical ability as well as sprinting and finished off with the traditional elimination race, where the last rider drops out on every lap.

Despite a brave effort from HCC's Emma Serjeant, the young and upcoming Katie Hesden from CYB Dragon's put in a commanding performance to seal the ladies title. In the men's race Tyler Brennan of The Bulls finished off a clean sweep wining all three rounds to secure the Men's title.
icnn logo