mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Sharks lose head coach

Created on 24/10/2016 @ 09:23
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


Welshpool Sharks Swimming Club has honored its departing Head Coach Peter Swanton at its Presentation Evening with the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ Award in recognition of his unstinting support to the Club.

Peter’s knowledge of the sport and coaching techniques has brought much needed expertise in the last nine years. He’s given the Club a huge amount of time, all on a voluntary basis and first started as a qualified swimming teacher but achieving ASA Level 1, 2 & 3 Coaching Awards, no mean feat.

He has led a team of voluntary assistant coaches as well as pool-side helpers and supervised training sessions across three weekday evenings as well as Sunday afternoons and regularly travelled as far as Llandudno, Manchester, Cardiff & Swansea to support the Club’s swimmers at competition.

He organised a charity Swimathon and persuaded local sporting hero’s Ollie Gwilt and Warren Sinden to take part which helped raise the event’s profile with £2,600 presented to the Make a Wish Foundation and The Anthony Nolan Trust in 2015.

Club Chair Bronwen Poole said: “Pete was instrumental in getting the Club back in to competition after many years of inactivity and the last two years in particular has seen his hard work come to fruition.

“In 2015, the Club won for the first time the East Clwyd Senior League which is swum over the course of three galas between Buckley, Connah’s Quay, Flint, Mold, Welshpool and Wrexham.

“He has also steered Club swimmers to regular individual success at the annual North Wales Championships as well as at the National Championships. It is the swimmer that always comes first and foremost in Pete’s mind and he’ll be sorely missed by us all.”

During the evening, other awards were presented and amongst the swimmer trophy winners was Jamie Marsden-Jones (Best Performance) for a great 100 Breaststroke at the Club Gala.

The Best Newcomer Award went to Poppy Livermore whilst Leighton Blagg received the Most Improved Award.

The Club also recognised the commitment of its swimmers and this year’s Most Dedicated Trophy went to a very well deserved Lois Birchall for her commitment at training and determination and positive attitude at the Club Gala.

The Swimmers Swimmer Awards, voted on by the swimmers themselves, went jointly to Kate Jones and Cari Jones along with Tom Weaver.

The age group winners from the Club Gala contested a few weeks ago were Taiya Griffiths and Teilo Gittins-Turner (9yrs); Kelsie Webster and Dyfrig Jones (10/11); Rebecca Edwards and Finlay Jones (12/13); Ellen Jones and Tom Weaver (14/15) and Kate Jones and Billy Hunt (16yrs+).

The Club extends its thanks in particular to its Secretary Ann Jones for compering the evening and to Shirley Owen for arranging all the certificates, medals, trophies, awards and engraving.

NOTE: If you are interested in the vacant Head Coach position, contact Kevin Owen on 01686 668301 / 0776 7886707 or

PICTURE: Peter pictured with his partner Nikki Cantrell.

icnn logo