mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Election candidates declared for Powys Council seats

Created on 05/04/2017 @ 11:53
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

 There’s going to be keen competition in next month’s Powys County Council elections in Welshpool and the surrounding towns and villages.

Despite the financial problems facing the authority there is no shortage of candidates with all the political parties offering stiff opposition to the ruling Independent groups at the May 4 election.

Liberal Democrat Fransesca Jump faces a four-cornered fight to retain her seat on Welshpool’s Gungrog Ward from Welshpool Town Mayor Steve Kaye, who is standing as an Independent, Ruth Canning for the Conservatives and David Senior for Plaid Cymru.

Phil Pritchard has opposition for the Castle seat from Liberal Democrat Richard Church and the Conservative’s Des Parkinson, who has defected from UKIP.

Graham Breeze will be challenged for the Llanerchyddol seat by Folkert Veenstra for the Lib/Dems.

Other interesting fights include Guilsfield where long-standing Independent member David Jones has opposition from Ian Harrison for the Conservatives and Jennifer Pratt for the Lib Dems.

Independent Forden councillor Linda Corfield is challenged by Gwynneth Bird for the Conservatives and there will be a new councillor at Trewern where Jessica Bradley (Independent) and Amanda Jenner (Conservative) go head-to-head.

Gareth Powell (Independent) and Jeniffer Trythall (Welsh Green Party) contest the Llanfair seat vacated by Viola Evans and Liberal Democrat Dave Edwards takes on Conservative opponent Lucy Roberts for the Llandrinio seat where Graham Brown has stood down.

Independent member Arwel Jones faces a challenge from the Conservative’s Mat Edwards at Llandysilio while Independent member Dai Davies is challenged by Alan Birch for the Lib Dems and Phil Bettley for the Conservatives at Berriew.

Jeremy Thorp for the Green Party is opposing Stephen Hayes at Montgomery while Independent member Myfanwy Alexander is challenged by Plaid Cymru’s Dafydd Lewis at Banwy.

The Green Party’s Richard Chaloner is opposing Conservative Peter Lewis at Llanfyllin while his fellow Tory Grynfor Thomas comes under threat from Christopher Richards for the Lib Dems and Independent Berwyn Davies at Llansantffraid.

Windfarm pylon campaigner Jonathan Wilkinson is elected unopposed for the Conservatives for Meifod while Independent Michael Jones s also unchallenged at Churchstoke.

icnn logo