mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Nicola Morris loses her seat on Town Council

Created on 06/05/2017 @ 06:24
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

Nicola Morris lost her seat on Welshpool Town Council in Thursday’s election for the Castle Ward.

Standing as a Labour candidate she lost out as six candidates battled for four seats on the council.

Candidates had to wait until yesterday (Friday) for the votes to be counted at Royal Welsh Showground at Llanelwed, Builth Wells.

Results were:

Richard Church (Lid/Dem) 212, 55% ELECTED

Julie Ellis (Independent) 173, 45%, ELECTED

Hazel Evans (Independent) 191, 50%, ELECTED

Nicola Morris (Labour) 142, 37%

Philip Pritchard (Independent) 223, 58% ELECTED

Penny Vingoe (Independent) 51, 13%

Turnout of voters 35 %

The Town Council will have a very different look at its annual meeting next week with Councillors Graham Breeze, John Corfield Amy Bowen, Brendon McWhinnie and Derek Simms not seeking re-election.

The newcomers are Richard Church, Folkert Venstree from the Liberal Democrats and Yvonne Owen and Julie Ellis, who both stood as Independents.

Elections will be called for vacant seats on Llanerchyddol and Gungrog Wards.

icnn logo