mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Davies makes Team GB squad

Created on 12/07/2017 @ 05:37
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


It just seems to get better and better for Forden runner Andy Davies after he was named last night in the Team GB squad to compete at the IAAF World Athletics Championships in London next month.

The popular marathon man admitted he was surprised to get the call-up but has immediately focused on his long distance running after spending the past couple of months tackling shorter road races.

“I’m delighted to have the call,” he told us. “It’s not ideal to have a late call up as I haven’t prepared as normal for a marathon, but will do as much as I can to be in or close to personal best shape as possible.

“It makes training a lot easier knowing I’m in the team. I can't believe it really as only four Welsh people have been selected. To be one of those is such a proud moment.

“I’ve still got a bit of work to go but really looking forward to getting on the start line! It's going to be surreal hanging around the GB team, but have got to make the most of it.”

Andy will join up with the team in Paris for a training camp from July 25 and will fly into London just three days before the event which takes place on August 6.

Great Britain squad


100m: Reece Prescod, James Dasaolu, CJ Ujah

200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot, Zharnel Hughes

400m: Matt Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Martyn Rooney

800m: Elliot Giles, Guy Learmonth, Kyle Langford

1500m: Chris O'Hare, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman

5000m: Mo Farah, Andrew Butchart

10,000m: Mo Farah

3000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett, Zak Seddon

110m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, David King, David Omoregie

400m hurdles: Jack Green

High Jump: Robbie Grabarz

Long jump: Greg Rutherford

Triple jump: Nathan Fox

Hammer: Nick Miller

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant

20km walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson

50km walk: Dominic King

Marathon: Callum Hawkins, Josh Griffiths, Andrew Davies

4x100m relay: CJ Ujah, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot, Zharnel Hughes, Adam Gemili, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Richard Kilty, Reece Prescod

4x400m relay: Matt Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Martyn Rooney, Delano Williams, Rabah Yousif, Jack Green, Cameron Chalmers.


100m: Asha Philip, Daryll Neita, Desiree Henry

200m: Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams, Dina Asher-Smith

400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora

800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Adelle Tracey, Lynsey Sharp

1500m: Laura Muir, Laura Weightman, Jessica Judd, Sarah McDonald

5000m: Steph Twell, Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir

10,000m: Beth Potter, Jessica Martin, Charlotte Taylor

3000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke

100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter

400m hurdles: Eilidh Doyle

High jump: Morgan Lake, Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw

Long jump: Lorraine Ugen

Discus: Jade Lally

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson

20km walk: Gemma Bridge, Bethan Davies

Marathon: Alyson Dixon, Charlotte Purdue, Tracy Barlow

4x100m relay: Asha Philip, Daryll Neita, Desiree Henry, Dina Asher-Smith, Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams, Corinne Humphreys

4x400m relay: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora, Eilidh Doyle, Laviai Nielsen, Perri Shakes-Drayton.



icnn logo