mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Will we get some play?

Created on 27/04/2018 @ 06:55
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


It’s not the summer weather we want, but nevertheless the local clubs have been busy preparing for the upcoming season and here we take a look at the comings and goings ahead of this weekend’s first games in the Shropshire Cricket League… hopefully!

Welshpool are looking to consolidate their position in Division One following a successful season back in the league last year.

The seconds string will be looking to build on last year’s positive season with a better league finish.

A number of talented youth players will be promoted to the senior teams, having lost last season’s captain Tom Anderson, Mat Knight and Aaron Knight to Newtown. Russell Cadwallader is the First Team Captain with Matt Mcwhinnie as Vice-Captain.

The seconds will be led by Jordan Harding with Rupert Redway his deputy.

Chris Proctor and Nathan Baines have returned from Guilsfield, while Dave Whitehouse returns from Alberbury.

Montgomery will once again be led by Sam Williams as they look to bounce straight back following last season’s relegation.

Vice-captain Aaron Ruff Cock will look to continue his outstanding form into the new campaign. The talented all-rounder scored a staggering 494 runs in Division One last season and he also took 30 wickets.

Andy Barker, Charlie Clinton, Tim Williams, Rob Bennett and Ieuan Griffiths will remain key batsmen for Montgomery, while Tom Corfield will look to force his way into the first team after scoring more than 500 runs for the club’s second team last season.

The bowling will be led by Ed Bennett, Harry Wilkinson and Alex Bromley, while Montgomery will also be able to call on left-arm bowler Patrick Fletcher who returns to the squad after missing much of the 2017 campaign.

The club’s second team will face a tough challenge in 2018 after promotion last season means they will contest the 2018 campaign in Shropshire’s highest reserve division.

The team will once again be skippered by George Corfield, with David Jones named his second in command.

Talented youngsters such as Charlie Kinsey, Lennon Bryan, Ross Wilkinson, Alex Haycock and Tom Hughes will be joined by experienced cricketers Rob Yewdall, Jonathan Williams, George Corfield and Keith Griffiths.

Batting will be led by Tom Corfield, when not called up for first team action, Patrick Wilding, Joe Haycock, Gareth Griffiths, Richard Jones, Ross Wilkinson, Rob Yewdall, Lennon Bryan, Jonathan Williams, George Corfield and Keith Griffiths.

Montgomery’s bowling attack will once again consist of Keith Griffiths, Dave Jones (who took 31 wickets each for the second team last season) Rob Yewdall (24 wickets) and Charlie Kinsey (20 wickets).

Captain George Corfield also remains hopeful he will be able to call upon the experienced pairing of David Thomas, who missed the entire 2017 season through injury, and Neil Tuffin, whose ability to swing a cricket ball proved most useful when he returned to the fold toward the end of last season.

Guilsfield & Llandrinio CC face a competitive Division Four with the additions of Treysull, Corvedale and the newly formed Colum, all of whom are expected to be strong along with Bridgenorth.

Skipper and wicketkeeper, Andy Trow, expects to be challenging for promotion after two seasons of stability for the club.

With Chris Procter and Nathan Baines returning to welshpool, they have drafted in all-rounder Bobby Gill from Church Aston and Jonathon Peate from Welshpool. Retaining opener and top scoring batsman Sam Griffiths along with opening partner Garry Lewis provides a solid batting platform with free scoring batsman Gill along with Gary Meredith and Dave Lewis providing a strong looking batting line-up.

Sam Birch will lead the bowling attack along with Gary West, Dave Court and the spin of Gill and Sam Griffiths.


icnn logo