mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Welshpool councillor named in new-look Powys Cabinet

Created on 02/10/2019 @ 14:50
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

A Welshpool councillor was today named in a reshuffled Powys County Council Cabinet.

Councillor Graham Breeze (pictured), the Independent member for Welshpool Llanerchyddol Ward, is one of two new members of the Cabinet alongside Councillor Heulwen Hulme, Independent member for Rhiwcynon.

The reshuffle of responsibilities has been completed by the Leader of the Council, Councillor Rosemarie Harris in the wake of the resignations of Councillors Stephen Hayes and Martin Weale. 

Councillor Harris said; “The changes that I am announcing today will come into force with immediate effect and are designed to give Cabinet members new challenges and wider experience of all council operations.

“The Cabinet will continue for the time being with eight members with some changes necessary in portfolio holder responsibilities. 

“We have a significant agenda as a Cabinet. As a number of strategic programmes start to gather pace I will be keeping the number of Cabinet members under review and may seek to increase the number to 10 in due course.” 

Councillor Breeze said: “I am delighted to have been asked to join the Cabinet. I will continue to do the my best to serve the people of Welshpool and Powys to the best of my abilities.”

The portfolio holder responsibilities will be:

Cllr Rosemarie Harris, Leader. 

Cllr Aled Davies, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Finance, Countryside and Transport.

Cllr Myfanwy Alexander, Portfolio Holder responsible for Adult Social Care and Welsh Language.

Cllr Graham Breeze, Portfolio Holder responsible for Corporate Governance and Engagement.

Cllr Phyl Davies, Portfolio Holder responsible for Education and Property.

Cllr James Evans, Portfolio Holder responsible for Economic Development, Housing and Regulatory Services.

Cllr Heulwen Hulme, Portfolio Holder responsible Environment.

Cllr Rachel Powell, Portfolio Holder responsible for Young People and Culture.

icnn logo