mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Name chosen for Llanfyllin’s new school

Created on 25/11/2019 @ 14:45
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend


A new all-through school in north Powys that will open next year has been named, Powys County Council has said.

Ysgol Llanfyllin will provide Welsh-medium and English-medium education for pupils from 4-18 years old.

The new school will open in September 2020 on the current sites of Llanfyllin C.P. School and Llanfyllin High School.

The decision to merge the primary and high school to establish an all-through school in Llanfyllin was made by the county council earlier this year.

Work is now ongoing to develop a logo for the new school, and there will be opportunities for local pupils to contribute to this process.

In addition to agreeing the school name, the new school’s leadership team has been appointed.

Dewi Owen, current Headteacher of Llanfyllin High School, has been appointed Ysgol Llanfyllin’s new Headteacher.

Senior members of staff currently employed in the current primary and high school have also been appointed onto Ysgol Llanfyllin’s new senior leadership team.

Llyr Thomas has been appointed Deputy Headteacher while Sioned Vaughan, Ann Roberts and Huw Lloyd Jones have been appointed Assistant Headteachers.

“I’m honoured to be appointed Ysgol Llanfyllin’s first Headteacher,” said Mr Owen.

“This is an exciting time for education in the Llanfyllin area. We are very much looking forward to working with staff, students, parents, governors and local businesses to create an inclusive and high achieving school where all students can thrive under our strong ‘Teulu’ ethos.

“It’s wonderful to see our ‘Teulu’ growing and it’s our aim is to provide the community with a school that they can be proud of and where the children of Llanfyllin and the wider community are provided with the high-quality bilingual education that they deserve.”

PICTURE: Ysgol Llanfyllin’s new senior leadership are (from left): Sioned Vaughan, Ann Roberts, Dewi Owen, Llyr Thomas and Huw Lloyd Jones.

icnn logo