mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Welsh Cup woe for local clubs

Created on 12/09/2010 @ 13:36
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Guilsfield came back from 2-0 down and needed a penalty shoot-out to advance in what was otherwise a disappointing day for local clubs in the first round of the Welsh Cup.
Trailing 2-0 at Penrhyncoch and with time running out, the strike partnership of Ross Frame and Graham Dyke combined with a goal apiece to take the game into extra time before the visitors won 6-4 on penalties.
Elsewhere, Llanrhaeadr’s big day didn’t quite go to plan after losing 5-0 at home to Alliance top club Rhyl. In what was the village’s biggest crowd for many years, Stuart Rudd (3), Scott Beckett and Greg Strong ensured there was no upset.
Both Waterloo Rovers and Technogroup Welshpool returned from their long journey’s north empty handed. Rovers went down 4-1 at Conwy while Welshpool finished with nine men as they lost 4-0 at Holyhead Hotspur.
Spar Mid Wales League
Will Thomas bagged four for BerriewBerriew took advantage of Llanrhaeadr’s Cup commitment to charge to the top of the Spar Mid Wales Division One table with a 9-0 win at Presteigne.
Will Thomas (right) bagged four, with Morris (3), Probert and Zieman joining in the goalfest.
Dyffryn Banw got their season back on track with a 6-1 verdict at home to Newbridge-on-Wye and honours were even between Llansantffraid Village and Builth Wells.
Montgomery took advantage of Kerry and Abermule slipping up to show their title credentials with an emphatic 5-1 win at home to Bont in Division Two.
Montgomery were 5-0 up inside an hour with Tony Meredith and Gaz Bromley bagging two each and one more from Ross Harris, before Bont scored a consolation. A further warning to the opposition is that Montgomery still have players to come back from injury.
Leaders Kerry threw away a two-goal lead to be held 2-2 by Four Crosses while Abermule suffered a 3-1 defeat at Tregaron despite feeling they had the better of play in an open match.
Llanfyllin beat Meifod 4-2 while Llanfair United returned from Talgarth with a point following a goalless draw. Elsewhere, Llandrindod Wells and Aberaeron shared eight goals.
Village Cup
Churchstoke and Llangedwyn fought out their second dramatic match of the season with Llangedwyn getting the nod by a single goal.
Earlier in the season, Llangedwyn beat Churchstoke 5-4, and goals from Darren Edwards (2), James Wigley and James Broadbent saw them advance in the Village Cup yesterday with a 4-3 win. Trevor Dunham, Neil Yapp (2) ensure the match needed extra time.
Dave Rimmer, Mark Roberts and Carl Danson scored as Kerry Reserves beat Morda Reserves 3-0, and Berriew Reserves overcame Llansantffraid 2-0.
Three goals in the last 20 minutes from Andy Downes (2) and Stu Buckley-Robins gave Guilsfield Reserves victory at Llanfechain who were ahead after the break through Codey Smart’s individual effort.
J.T. Hughes Amateur League
Llanidloes Reserves are flying high in Honda Division One after they put eight past Carno Reserves while Caersws Reserves won 5-1 at Bettws.
In Mitsubishi Division Two, a Lee Morris goal was enough for Trefonen to beat Llanfair Reserves 1-0.
Full results
Welsh Cup, first round
Conwy United 4, Waterloo Rovers 1
Holyhead Hotspur 4, Technogroup Welshpool 0
Llanrhaeadr 0, Rhyl 5
Penrhyncoch 2, Guilsfield 2 (Guilsfield won 6-4 on penalties)
Spar Mid Wales Division 1
Dyffryn Banw 6, Newbridge-on-Wye 1
Llansantffraid Village 1, Builth Wells 1
Presteigne 0, Berriew 9
Spar Mid Wales Division 2
Four Crosses 2, Kerry 2
Llandrindod Wells 4, Aberaeron 4
Llanfyllin 4, Meifod  2
Montgomery 5, Bont  1
Talgarth 0, Llanfair Utd 0
Tregaron Turfs 3, Abermule 1 
Llansantffraid Village Cup, round 1
Morda Res 0, Kerry Res 3
Churchstoke 3, Llangedwyn 4 (aet)
Llanfechain 1, Guilsfield Res 3
Berriew Res 2, Llansantffraid Res 0.
Honda Division One
Llanidloes Res 8, Carno Res 0
Bettws 1, Caersws 5
Mitsubishi Division Two
Trefonen 1, Llanfair Res 0
Waterloo Rovers Colts v Technogroup Welshpool Reserves (OFF)
icnn logo