mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Breidden Rally raises £750

Created on 26/10/2012 @ 10:56


Rally fans dug deep and raised £750 for charity during the Breidden Rally earlier this month.
Organised by the Welsh Border Car Club, the overnight event proved as popular as ever with over 1,000 spectators reported at the notorious wood yard spectator point alone.
Sponsored by Oswestry based TA Gittins Chartered Accountants, the rally is a qualifying round of four UK National Rally Championships and this year’s event again was based at the Welshpool Livestock Sales, where 170 competitors faced a demanding 130-mile route through the local lanes and tracks surrounding the host town.
Money raised from the sale of rally programmes and collections will be donated to Birmingham’s Children’s Hospital.
Clerk Of Course, Neil Spiers commented: “This year’s rally was a resounding success, with the centralised start and finish venue of the new Livestock Market enhancing the event once again and also the money we were able to raise for the children’s hospital was the icing on the cake. My own son benefited from the care of the staff at the hospital shortly after he was born and I cannot praise them enough.”
Entry Secretary, Gill Wood said the fresh blood on the organising team this year contributed to the success with half aged under 25.
The Rally was won by the Ford Escort of Meirion Evans & Iwan Jones. This top crew are holding their place near the top of the WAMC championship leader board and are continuing to make North and Mid Wales Rally enthusiasts proud. The event attracted three top female Welsh Navigators, Lowri Davies, Ceri & Gwawr Hughes, bringing a sense of equality into a male dominated sport.
Top 10 results for the Breidden Rally 2012:
1: Meirion Evans / Iwan Jones - Ford Escort
2: Phil Turner / Dale Bowen  - Ford Escort
3: Mark 'GT' Roberts / Dylan Jenkins - VW Golf GTi
4: Richard Jerman / Lowri Davies - Ford Escort
5: Ian 'Dude' Roberts / Gwawr Hughes - VW Golf
6: Tim Powley / Max Freeman - Nissan Sunny
7: Hywel Davies / Nick Bloxham - Ford Escort
8: Steve Davies / Carl Williamson - Ford Escort
9: Aled Stephens / Allen Hart - Vauxhall Astra GSI
10: Kevin Kerr / Huw Manion - Ford Escort
icnn logo