mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Business Awards finalists announced

Created on 10/07/2013 @ 10:45


Several Welshpool companies are in the running for prestigious local business awards.

The 2013 Powys Business Awards will be awarded on September 27 at The Hafren, Newtown and in a fiercely-contested competition, 32 businesses have been shortlisted for 12 awards.

Only one winner will be chosen from them to be the overall Powys Business of the Year 2013 which is sponsored by Powys County Council.

The finalists

Small Business Award sponsored by Turner Peachey, Chartered Accountants:

*       5 c Service Ltd, Builth Wells
*       Castle Ring Oak Frames
*       Charging Solutions Ltd, Nr Presteigne

Start up Business Award sponsored by County Times:

*       Cycle-Tec, Builth Wells
*       Eva Build Ltd, Newtown
*       Vulcan Lodge Ltd, Rhayader

Excellence in People Development Award sponsored by Leadership & Management Wales (LMW);

*       Eva Build Ltd, Newtown
*       Packaging Co-ordinators Inc (UK), Hay on Wye
*       The Lion Hotel, Llandinam

Growth Award sponsored by Finance Wales:

*       EOM (Electrical Contractors) Ltd, Newtown
*       Plant i Ltd, Machynlleth
*       Quartix Ltd, Newtown

Manufacturing Award sponsored by Mid Wales Manufacturing Group:

*       Charcroft Electronics Ltd, Llanwrtyd Wells
*       Dawson Shanahan Wales Ltd, Welshpool
*       Frame Wise Ltd, Presteigne

Social Enterprise / Charity Award sponsored by Mid Wales Housing Association Ltd:

*       Beacons Creative Wales Ltd, Brecon
*       Hafren Credit Union Ltd, Newtown
*       Montgomeryshire Family Crisis Centre, Newtown

Farm Diversification Award supported by Farm Diversification Grant Scheme,

*       Beacons Geo Park Study Centre, Brecon
*       Little Cefn Smokehouse
*       Penlan Farm Bluebell Shepperd Huts, Crickhowell

Achievement in International Trade sponsored by Coleg Powys:

*       Compact Orbital Gears Ltd, Rhayader
*       Dawson Shanahan Wales Ltd, Welshpool
*       Zip Clip Ltd, Newtown

Entrepreneurship Award sponsored by The Cambrian News & Brecon & Radnor Express:

*       Mr. Gareth Burns, The Castle Vaults & N-Mac Newtown Martial Arts Centre
*       Ms. Layla Bennett, Hawksdrift Falconry
*       Mr. Richard Glover- Davies, GloverSure Ltd

Innovation Award sponsored by Welsh Government:

*       Anderson Apparel Ltd, Llanbrynmair
*       Makefast Ltd, Newtown
*       Quartix Ltd, Newtown

Green Tourism Award supported by Sustainable Tourism Powys

*       Drovers Rest Restaurant & J & R School of Cooking Masterclasses, Llanwrtyd Wells
*       Gwaenynog Farmhouse, Dolanog Nr Welshpool
*       Lion Hotel, Llanbister
*       Red Ridge Holidays Ltd, Cefn Coch Nr Welshpool

Business in the Community Award sponsored by Federation of Small Businesses:

*       Charcroft Electronics Ltd, Llanwrtyd Wells
*       Whittingham Riddell LLP, Newtown
*       World Alternative Games, Llanwrtyd Wells

More information can be found at

icnn logo