jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Five-in-a-row for Monty

Created on 28/07/2021 @ 13:26


Montgomery’s sensational rise up the Henshalls Shropshire Division Two table continued with the fifth win on the bounce at home to Lilleshall.

Andrew Barker top scored as Monty could only muster 140-7 from their allotted 40 overs after deciding to bat, but another superb bowling response led by Ed Bennett (4-26) secured a nine-wicket win with just two overs remaining. The win sees Monty move up to fifth.

Newtown pace bowler Joe Monk (3-8) and Reino De Klerk (3-17) smashed into Pontesbury’s batting line-up to ensure the club’s push for promotion to the Premier League continued in emphatic style. 

The pair combined to reduce their border opposition to 68 all out, enabling John Anthony (36no) to lead the run chase and secure the 10-wicket win to keep them in third in Division One.

Welshpool’s Division Three match with Albrighton was cancelled due to Covid-19, and Guilsfield & Llandrinio did not have a Division Five fixture, but Newtown II did manage a win.

Adam (56) and Matthew Knight (33) combined to clinch the match for Newtown II by chasing down Church Stretton’s 173-7.

Will Denham smashed a brilliant 105 for Llanidloes and Rob Davies hit 92, including eight sixes, as Llanidloes amassed a huge 278-3 for Bomere Heath II to chase in Division Six.

Adrian Foulkes then took centre stage with 5-28 to restrict the Shropshire visitors to just 102 as Llanidloes climbed back to the top of the table.

Montgomery II were put to the sword in Division Six at Lilleshall II who scored a whopping 302-6, well out of reach for Monty who were out for 177, with David Thomas top scoring on 67. 

Welshpool II’s match was also a victim of Covid-19.

Saturday fixtures

Division One

Newtown v St Georges

Division Two

Shelton II v Montgomery

Division Three

Willey v Welshpool

Division Five

Guilsfield & Llandrinio v Whitchurch II

Much Wenlock v Newtown II

Division Six

St Georges III v Llanidloes

Montgomery II v Shrewsbury III

Division Seven

Welshpool II v Chirk II

icnn logo