jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Alan Brooks triumphs on The Golfa

Created on 18/10/2010 @ 16:02

Alan Brooks (24) was in fine form again at Welshpool Golf Club on Saturday, winning the Turkey Trail event.

He won the 18  Stableford competition with 39 points from Chris Proctor (25) with 38 points andRichard Evans (14) 38 points.

On Sunday an 18 hole bogey competition was played with Des Evans in first place Des Evans (24) returning a very good score of +4, fromGraham Roberts (15) +3, and Steve Morris (15) +1.

It was an eventful week for the seniors. Stan Rawlings was presented as the winner of the Golfer of the Year competition, Derrick Arthur second and
John Wood in third place.

Then there were the opening rounds of the Monty Robinson Seniors Knock Out competition; and at the time of writing Eddie Cooper, John Roberts, Peter Sharman and Peter Johnson are still in with a chance. And if all that excitement was not enough members played the first round of the Winter League with Sam Pritchard finishing on top of the pile followed closely by Bran Edwards, Peter Johnson and Eddie Cooper.

The ladies played their last GUW medal of the year, won by Jayne Mitchell (27) with a net 75, with Ann Newell (16) in 2nd place with a net 77. The ladies play in the final of the Mid Wales Handicap league next Saturday against Llandrindod Wells at Aberystwyth.


In the Seniors Stableford on Tuesday,  October 12 Gareth Jones came in with 40 points to edge out Andy Knott with 39 and Colin Lewis also on 39.
Ladies AGM is to be held at the clubhouse 5pm Thursday 18th November

icnn logo