mobile phone link image
jobs page link image
follow us on facebook follow us on twitter
00  Month

Dominoes officials honoured

Created on 30/12/2020 @ 11:17

John Harding (right) receives a presentation from Richard Turner to mark 50 years service to Welshpool Dominoes League

Welshpool Dominoes League made presentations to two long serving officials prior to Covid-19 restrictions being imposed.

League Secretary John Harding and Chairman and Treasurer Keith Lewis received gifts from the teams to mark both being involved for over 50 years.

The 2019/20 season was completed just before the country went into lockdown with The Cock of Forden winning the first division and The Pheasant runners-up. The Green Dragon won the second division with Angel Dragons winning the Knockout Cup.

Eric Lunt of The Raven won the Individual title with Mike Harding and Brian Evans of The Green Dragon winning the Doubles.

Most wins in the first division went to Steve George of The Cock of Forden, with the late Nick Thomas of The Angel winning most games in Division Two .

Richard Turner, landlord of the Westwood Park Hotel made a presentation to John Harding (Match Secretary) and Keith Lewis (Chairman and Treasurer of the League)  on behalf of all the landlords from the league for 50 years service.

Division Two winners the Green Dragon, Welshpool. Pictured front left to right, Mike Harding and Keith Bonner. Back left to right, Ian Jones, Brian Evans, Kevin Taylor and Stuart Jones. Not pictured, Ian Villis.

Doubles Winners pictured left to right, Mike Harding and Brian Evans from the Green Dragon, Welshpool.

John Harding (left) League Secretary makes the presentation to the Individual Winner, Eric Lunt from The Raven.

The Angel Dragons were the winners of the Teams Knockout. Pictured front left to right, Sharon Thomas and Gwyneth Edwards. Back left to right, Dave Manuel and Roger Chapman. Not pictured, Graham Roberts and Steve Wright.

Nick Thomas, player of the year in Division Two.

Keith Lewis, received an award for over 50 years service to the league.

Pictured by Phil Blagg Photography.

icnn logo